Free Vedic Astrology Lesson

Vedic Astrology Lesson 4

As the earth sphere is divided into the Western & the Eastern hemispheres by the Prime Meridien ( the Greenwich Meridien ) so is the Celestial Sphere divided into Western and Eastern hemispheres by the Celestial Meridien. As the globe is divided into northern and southern hemispheres by the Equator, so is the Celestial Sphere divided into the nothern and southern hemispheres by the Celestial Equator.

The Four Major Mathematical Points of the Zodiac

In Astronomy the Eastern Horizon is called the Ascendant. 180 degrees from it is the Western Horizon called as the Descendant. The intersecting point where the Ecliptic cuts the Celestial Meridien is called the Meridien Cusp ( M C ) and 180 degrees from it is called the Imum Coeli ( I C ).

The Computation of Houses

First the longitude of the Ascendant is calculated by using the following formula

Tan L = Sin E
Cos E Cos w - Sin w Tan A
Where L is the Ascendant, E is the Right Ascension of East Point , w the Sun's maximum declination and A - the latitude of the place. Once the Ascending degree is known , 180 degrees is subtracted to get the Descendant.

The MC is calculated by using the following formula
Tan K = Tan R / Cos w

Where is the longitude of the MC, R the Right Ascension of the Meridien Cusp and w the Sun's maximum declination. 180 degrees deducted from the MC is the longitude of the IC.

These 4 are the Four Houses of the Zodiac. Ascendant is the Ist House, IC the Fourth, Descendant the Seventh and MC, the tenth.

We have said that each sign of the Zodiac is 30 degrees each. If the Ascending Degree is Pisces, then the Ascendant is Pisces, the IC is Gemini, the Descendant is Virgo and the MC, Sagittarius.

Rulership of Signs

Aries ruled by Mars
Taurus Venus
Gemini Mercury
Cancer Moon
Leo Sun
Virgo Mercury
Libra Venus
Scorpio Mars
Sagittarius Jupiter
Capricorn Saturn
Aquarius Saturn
Pisces Jupiter
Equal House Division or Bhava Theory

Now we have got the longitudes of the Ascendant ( Udaya Lagna ) , the Descendant ( Astha Lagna), the MC ( Madhya Lagna ) & the IC ( Patala Lagna ).

The distance from the Ascendant and the IC is divided by 3 and we have the first Three Houses.

The distance from the IC and the Descendant is divided by 3 and we have the 4th,5th and 6th houses.
The distance from the Descendant and MC is divided by 3 and we have the 7,8th and 9th houses
The distance from the MC and Ascendant is divided by 3 and we have the 10,11 and 12th houses.
The Houses of the Zodiac and what they represent

First House Signifies Personality and Fame
Second Signifies House Wealth
Third House Signifies Younger coborns, valour
Fourth House Signifies Houses, conveyances
Fifth House Signifies Progeny, divine merit
Sixth House Signifies Enemies, debts
Seventh House Signifies Life Partner
Eighth House Signifies Death
Ninth House Signifies Fortune, father, Guru
Tenth House Signifies Profession
Eleventh House Signifies Gains, Fulfillment of all desires
Twelfth House Signifies Liberation, incarceration.

The First House or Ascendant ( Lagna )

Fame and personality are indicated by the First House. The greatest wealth that is Health is also indicated by the Ascendant. Analysing the strength of the First house consists in assessing the strength of the Ascendant lord , the strength of the planets occupying the First House and the planets which aspect the Ascendant. If the First House is highly fortified, then the qualities denoted by the First House ( like Fame, Health and Personality ) will be highly fortified. If weak, then the qualities will be weak. viz the native will be less famous and mediocre.

The Second House

Wealth is ruled by the 2nd house. The other significations are family & speech. If the 2nd house is powerful , then the probability of the native acquring wealth will be high. Accumulated property is ruled by the 2nd house.

The Third House

Younger coborns are ruled by the 3rd house. Valour and virility are also ruled by the 3rd house.

If the 3rd house or its lord is powerful, younger coborns achieve success. The native becomes known for his or her courage and valour.

The Fourth House

Mother, friends, uncle, houses and conveyances are ruled by the Fourth. If the fourth house is powerful, then the native gets good conveyances & house. If weak, then the native struggles to get these acquisitions.

The Fifth House

Intelligence is ruled by the Fifth house. If the 5th lord is powerful, the native becomes highly intelligent.

Divine merit is also indicated by the Fifth House, the fifth being a moral triangle.

The Sixth House

Enemies and debts are ruled by the sixth house. If the sixth house is powerful, enemies get destroyed.

The native becomes debt-free. On the other hand, if the sixth be weak, persecution from enemies and torture by debts.

The Seventh House

Life-partner is indicated by the seventh house. The native gets a rich partner if the seventh house is powerful. Diplomacy is also indicated by the seventh house.

The Eighth House

Death is indicated by the eighth louse. Lots of longevity if the eighth house is powerful. If the eighth house be powerful, less obstacles & hindrances on the path of life.

The Ninth House

Fortune, Guru, Divine Merit - all these are the characteristics of the Ninth House. If the ninth house is powerful, spiritual progress and the smiling of Fortune. The Ninth House can confer not only Fortune, but also a cordially disposed spouse and good children too.

The Tenth House

This is considered to be a very important House as it indicates one's profession.

If the tenth lord is powerful, the native becomes reputed . Professional enhancement and reputation.

The Eleventh House

This is the house of Gains and Fulfillment of all desires. All planets are welcome in the Eleventh. Excellent position for Saturn and Jupiter to be in. If the eleventh lord is powerful, even anarchic qualities may manifest.

The Twelfth House

This is the house of Liberation. Excellent position for South Node (Ketu) to be in( as he is signiicator of Liberation ).On the negative side, incarceration and loss indicated by this house.

If the twelfth house is powerful, the native attains to Liberation, provided Jupiter, Saturn and Ketu are well posited.

While analysing the strength of Houses, the strength of its Lord, the strength of the planet posited in the House, the aspects of other planets on it - all these factors should be considered.

The Law of Correspondences of Classical Philosophy applies to astrological science.

The Correspondence between the Nine digits and the nine revolving heavens is the science of AstroNumerology.

More quality information about Astro-Numerology and a free Astro- Numerological Report can be had from.

The Correspondence between the Nine gems and the Nine planets is the science of Astro-Gemology.

Astrology as related to Yoga.

Yoga or Union with Cosmic Creative Intelligence is strongly related to Astrology. Self Actualisation is the aim of Yoga. One of the sciences which aid Self Actualisation is Astrology as it deals with the natural & celestial causes and can guide man to the Ultimate Goal which is Self- Realisation.

Jean Dixon averred that the twelve disciples of Jesus represented the 12 Signs of the Zodiac.The twelve Tribes of Israel were emblematic of these 12 constellations. The 36 genii of the Egyptian Calender symbolise the 36 decanates of the Zodiac. The 24 hours are actually the 24 Horas of the Zodiac.

More information about Transcendental Philosophy & Yoga can be had from

More information about Planetary Gemology & a FREE Gem Prescription Report can be had from

Article by G Kumar, Astrologer, writer & programmer of He has 25 years psychic research experience in the esoteric arts. His Free Ebook, Yoga can be downloaded at To subscribe to his free Ezine, the Z Files His Astro blog is up at & his marketing blog is at Mobile 091 9388556053

Click Here to Go to: Astrology Lesson 5